Hats, hats, hats.

by hauteandhomemade

Hat 1

Hat 2

Hat 3

Hat 4

Hat 5

Hat 6

Today, I was lucky enough to spend a gloomy December morning at the Peabody Essex Museum’s stunning Hats exhibit. The exhibit’s assortment of vibrantly colored, uniquely shaped, sometimes outlandish hats were the perfect antidote to today’s gray skies and biting wind. In addition to providing an opportunity to view one-of-a-kind pieces worn by royalty, celebrities, and historic figures, this exhibit showcased the important role hats have played throughout the history of fashion. While watching vintage film clips from the 1940s that served to introduce the seasons’ newest hat styles, I was inspired to wear hats more often. After all, the right hat can complement your features and add an air of sophistication to any outfit.

After purchasing a beautiful red coat earlier this year, I began searching for a great hat pattern so I could complete my winter look. Then, while browsing at a yarn shop, I happened upon a great deal on some angora yarn and decided to purchase a few skeins without a particular pattern in mind. After some online research, I discovered a free pattern for a fun beret. This hat was very easy to make and work up quickly…all the more so since I skipped one pattern repeat (I have an abnormally small head) and decided to forgo the pattern’s characteristic bow.

This little beret may not rival the amazing toppers on display at the Peabody Essex Museum, but its cheerful color and fuzzy texture can brighten up a dull winter day and put a smile on my face.

Pattern: a beret with a bow

Source: forty percent fringe and sixty percent face

Yarn: Plymouth Angora

Fashion Credits:

Hat: homemade

Coat: MSGM